Eurospace - News

Key concerns of the Aeronautic, Space and Defence industry about REACH 

Friday, May 23, 2014 10:02:00 AM

The ASD REACH Working Group, has released an analysis of the sector's key concerns regarding REACH.

This information is available on ASD's REACH information page here.

Eurospace Council meeting - April 1st, 2014 

Monday, March 31, 2014 2:27:00 PM

Mr. Jack Bosma for a presentation/discussion on its first findings regarding ESA procurement policy in his still recent position of Ombudsman.

Call for interest in using ESA's inventions 

Thursday, February 6, 2014 4:53:00 PM

ESA logo

Companies and organisations from ESA Member States and Canada are invited to submit their interest in using ESA's inventions. 

The goal of this call for interest is to make ESA's portfolio and licensing conditions more openly visible to European Space Industry and to encourage its use and licensing. 

Please consult the following document for further information:

Perspectives Spatiales 2014 - 13 février, Paris 

Wednesday, January 22, 2014 3:20:00 PM

The seminar "Perspectives spatiales 2014" is the first annual dedicated to space meeting  in France. The event will gather, in February 13th, nearly 200 public and private decision-makers representing the entire value chain of the French and European space sector.

Organizer: Euroconsult



Business Bridge: 6th Annual Conference on EU Space Policy - 28 & 29 January 2014, Brussels 

Wednesday, January 22, 2014 3:07:00 PM

On the Agenda for discussion:

  • European Space Industry: Facing the Challenge of Competitiveness
  • International Dimension of Space: Cooperation and Competition
  • EU Space Programmes: Prospective State-of-play
  • The Growing Role of Satellite Telecommunications, and New Challenges for Operators
  • What are the New Challenges and Opportunities for Europe in Space?
  • The Defence and Security Dimension of Space Services and Activities

Organised by Business Bridge Europe in collaboration with:
The European Commission, the European Parliament and its Sky and Space Intergroup, the European Council, the European Space Agency, Eurospace, and key actors from the space industry and space-user sectors.


Summary and presentations from 1st Space Stakeholders’ Day on REACH on 2 December 2013  

Thursday, December 19, 2013 9:49:00 AM

As announced earlier the Chromates Industry Task Force of the European Space Industry (STF) and the European Space Agency (ESA) organised the 1st Space Stakeholders’ Day on REACH on 2 December 2013 at ESA Headquarters in Paris. The event was focusing on the authorisation requirement for uses of chromium trioxide and other Cr(VI) substances under the REACH Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006. Over 40 participants from the European space community, the aviation sector, chemicals industry and the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) were present.

An overall summary of the presentations and discussions can be found in the meeting summary. For further information on the event please review the agenda and presentations below. It should be noted that the presentations only give a “snapshot” concerning any authorisation plans and schedules, which may be subject to future changes; they are to be relied upon at the reader’s own risk.  

If you have further questions on STF and other REACH-related activities in the European space sector, you may contact Mr Pierre LIONNET at

1st Space Stakeholders’ Day on REACH on 2 December 2013 at ESA HQ in Paris 

Wednesday, November 20, 2013 3:58:00 PM

The Chromates Industry Task Force of the European Space Industry (STF) and the European Space Agency (ESA) invite you to participate to the 1st Space Stakeholders’ Day on REACH “How to ensure due authorisation for Cr(VI) in the space sector?”, on Monday, 2 December 2013 (10:00 – 16:00) at ESA Headquarters, Room 344, 8-10 Rue Mario Nikis, 75015 Paris, France.

With only ca. two years left until latest submission windows for authorisation applications for uses of chromium trioxide and certain other Cr(VI) substances, STF is now about to enter the critical Phase 2 - “Joint Technical Work and Supply Chain Agreements on Authorisation” – to be completed in 2014.

Objectives of the event are to:

  • raise awareness of authorisation issues specific to “space”
  • get the European Chemicals Agency’s clarifications and share experience on technical, regulatory and procedural aspects of the authorisation application process
  • call on European space companies not yet involved in STF activities to join in for Phase 2
  • understand and discuss authorisation strategy of actors in space supply chains and aviation sector
  • help define a clear roadmap to authorisation for space companies and their suppliers in the context of various ongoing joint authorisation activities

The event is open to all stakeholders for and within the European Space Community – both from industry and authority side – who are or may be concerned with REACH authorisation for prioritized hexavalent chromium compounds by the latest application date.

The agenda and further information can be found in the ESA Call for Participation

Registrations should be done as soon as possible by e-mail to

Welcome to our new members! 

Wednesday, August 14, 2013 4:19:00 PM

Eurospace is happy and proud to announce that its General Assembly approved at its last meeting the candidatures of two new members:

  • Scisys Ltd.,
  • Proespaço, the association of the Portuguese Space industry.

The involvement of Portugal in our association reinforces our representativeness.

The Van Allen Foundation, accompanied by the French space agency (CNES) and the European Space Agency (ESA) 

Monday, July 8, 2013 5:30:00 PM

Since 2006, at the University of Montpellier 2 (France), students, researchers and industrials work together on national and international projects of student-built nanosatellites. Two lines of products are developed : cubesats and triple-cubesats. An economic and quick way for both technological demonstration in orbit  - now possible thanks to the components miniaturization - and training of future engineers. To ensure this activity, this university has launched last year the Van Allen Foundation, with missions of development, promotion and fund collect.  Among its board of directors, some of the best known figures in the international space industry led together the strategy : Franco ONGARO (ESA CTO), Marc PIRCHER (Director of Toulouse Space Centre (CNES) and Member of the Academy of Technologies) , Michel TOGNINI (French astronaut, former Director of ESA’s Astronaut Centre), and the Foundation President Michel Courtois (Former Director of CNES Toulouse and ESA CTO, Member of the Academy of Technologies). No doubt that the results already reached, such as the1st French student-built nanosatellite sent in orbit or international collaborations, are only the beginning of a large range of innovation ways for the entire sector.

For more information, please visit

Eurospace facts and figures 2013 - report now available 

Thursday, June 27, 2013 10:17:00 AM

On June 27th 2013 Eurospace issues the 17th edition of its annual report on the state of the European space industry. The report includes, as usual, all details on sales by customer and by systems as well as workforce information.

A web release with key facts 2012 is available for download here, the full report can be purchased from Eurospace. Contact Pierre Lionnet. Last year's report is now available for free download here.

Pierre Lionnet

Page 5 of 8 << < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 > >>